F. No. 35-5/2017-TS.I Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Higher Education Technical Section-I

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi Dated: 5th September, 2018

ORDER

Subject: Creation of National Testing Agency (NTA) for conducting of entrance examinations for higher education institutions- reg.

In pursuance of the Budget Announcement 2017-18 (Para 52) and subsequent approval of the Union Cabinet in its meeting held on 10-11-2017, National Testing Agency (NTA) has been established as an autonomous and self-sustained premier testing organization to conduct entrance examinations for higher educational institutions in the country. Accordingly, NTA has been registered as a Society under the Societies (Registration) Act, 1860 vide Registration No. S/ND/914/2018 dated 15-05-2018.

2. NTA will initially conduct those examinations which are currently being conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) as well as the CMAT and GPAT as entrusted by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) so that these agencies are relieved of the responsibility of conducting these examinations and can focus on their core activities. NTA will adopt technology and the best global practices to bring in high reliability, transparency, and standardized difficulty levels for assessing the aptitude, intelligence and problem-solving abilities of the students.

3. The NTA will start with UGC-NET in December 2018 whereas other examinations will be taken up from 2019 onwards. It will conduct the examinations in Computer Based Testing (CBT) mode at least twice a year, thereby giving adequate opportunity to candidates to bring out their best. In order to serve the requirements of the rural students, it will locate the examination centres at sub-district/district level and will provide hands-on training to the students, as far as possible. As far as NEET(UG) is concerned, it shall be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

4. The administrative structure of NTA includes its General Body chaired by an eminent educationist appointed by the Government of India and will comprise nominees from the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), National Institutes of Technology (NITs), Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs), Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs), Central Universities (CUs) and experts from the field of testing as its Members. However, the initial members of the General Body are as follows:-

...2/-

S.No	Name	Designation	Occupation
1	Shri R. Subrahmanyam	Chairman	Secretary, Department of Higher Education, MHRD
2	Dr. S.S. Sandhu	Member	Additional Secretary (Technical Education), Department of Higher Education, MHRD
3	Ms. Darshana Momaya Dabral	Member	Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, Department of Higher Education, MHRD
4	Ms. Anita Karwal	Member	Chairman, Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)
5	Sh. Vineet Joshi	Member Secretary	Director General, National Testing Agency (NTA)
6	Dr. Abhay Karandikar	Member	Director, IIT Kanpur
7	Shri Anil Kumar	Member	Director (Finance), Department of Higher Education, MHRD
8	Shri Prashant Agarwal	Member	Director (IITs), Department of Higher Education, MHRD

5. The Director General of NTA, in the rank and pay equivalent to the Joint Secretary to Government of India will be its Chief Executive Officer, who shall be assisted by 9 verticals in the rank and pay equivalent to a Director in the Government of India, each spearheading 9 wings of NTA. NTA will fill up all these positions on deputation basis in accordance with its operational requirements.

6. The Government of India shall give directions to the NTA and the General Body in respect of its policies and the NTA shall be bound to comply with such directions.

7. If at any time difficulty arises in the functioning of the NTA because of any lacunae in the Memorandum of Association or in the rules, or the failure of any of their provisions to operate, the Government of India shall have powers to give directions to resolve the difficulty and such directions shall be binding on officers and authorities of the NTA.

....3/-

2 :

8. NTA, as per the decision of the Cabinet will be given a one-time grant of Rs.25 crore to start its operation. Thereafter, it will be financially self-sustainable.

9. The registered office of NTA is at Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development, West Block-1, Wing No. 6, 2nd Floor, R. K. Puram, New Delhi- 110066, while the correspondence address is National Testing Agency, Outreach Centre of Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, C Block, Sector 62, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Noida, Uttar Pradesh-201309.

(Prashant Agarwall

Director(IITs) Ph : 23073271

To,

- The Prime Minister's Office (Shri Brijesh Pandey, Deputy Secretary)
 The Cabinet Secretariat (Shri S. G. P. Verghese, Director) w.r.f. their OM No. No.38/CM/2017(i) dated 13-11-2017
- 3. The Chief Executive Officer, NITI Aayog
- 4. The Secretaries of all Ministries/Departments of the Government of India, as per standard list.
- 5. Chief Secretaries/Administrators of all States/Union Territories, as per standard list.
- 6. Directors of all IITs
- 7. Director, IISc, Bangalore
- 8. Directors of all NITs
- 9. Directors of all IIMs
- 10. Directors of all IISERs
- 12. Directors of all IIITs
- 12. Vice Chancellors of All Central Universities
- 13. Chairman, University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi
- 14. Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education(AICTE), New Delhi
- 15. Chairman, Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), New Delhi

Internal:

- 1. PS to Hon'ble HRM
- 2. PS to Hon'ble MoS
- 3. Secretary(HE), MHRD
- 4. Additional Secretary (TE), MHRD
- 5. Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, MHRD
- 6. NIC, Shastri Bhawan for uploading the order on the MHRD website

(Prashant Agarwal

Director(IITs)